top of page

Introducing, The Lupus Dream Team!

Check these guys out! I met Dion Langley and Emmitt III over a twitter conversation while setting up the Purple Panel event for Purple May 2021. Both their personal stories are inspirational! and It's great to know that there are men who are not ashamed to talk about lupus, encouraging other men who have Lupus to speak out about their journeys! Together, they make the Lupus Dream Team.

"Our mission is to spread Lupus and Autoimmune Disease Awareness to the Community as well as focusing on Men’s Mental Health. To have two men advocate for this is needed in the community. As two men, who fought for our own lives dealing with Lupus, we want our voices to be heard that a good life can be lived while dealing with an Autoimmune Disease. "



Dion Langley

“After two years of being extremely weak, no energy, chronic fatigue, loss of appetite, extreme weight loss, chest pains (feeling like I’m having a heart attack); long stays in the hospital they finally figured it out."


“Mr. Langley, you have Lupus,” are words I will never forget. After being diagnosed with SLE, I tried my best to continue working and doing things for my family but my health just wouldn’t let me. I was taking all types of medications and being in and out of the hospital for periods at a time. It really took a toll on me drastically, I realized that I would never be able to be the same person as before. “


I suffer from chronic pain in the chest. Lupus has affected my joints, skin, and circulatory system, I've had inflammation of the heart walls, shortness of breath and chronic fatigue. Being a drummer is hard and tiring and it's hard work trying to stay healthy and motivated everyday.


I began wearing the #BeatLupus t-shirts, and posting pictures online as an encouragement to all living with Lupus, especially men with Lupus, and I received positive feedback and realised that I am inspiring others for opening up about my challenges with Lupus. I came up with the slogan #BeatLupus because I am a drummer and a lupus warrior!


Email: drum4lupus@gmail.com

Facebook: Dion Langley / #Beatlupus group / Lupus Dream Team

Instagram: @drum4lupus / @beatlupusapparel / @lupusdreamteam

Twitter: @drum4lupus



“There is the belief and shame, that it’s just a female disease”



Emmitt Henderson III

“I had joint pain in my knees, wrist, and shoulders that could not be explained.


During two weeks in hospital, I endured many tests. and they diagnosed me with SLE Lupus. The first question I asked was, “What is that?”


I have had a kidney transplant, a bone marrow stem cell transplant, right knee replacement, left shoulder replacement, gall bladder removal, lung failure, rheumatoid arthritis, Sjogren’s Syndrome, Gout, Shingles, blood transfusions, chemotherapy and radiotherapy, throat ulcers, cardiomyopathy (heart muscle disease) that lead to heart failure, I had to be in a clinically induced coma, and had to learn how to walk, talk, and use my limbs again.


“ I became stronger mentally where I was ready to accept whatever Lupus brought to me physically. It made me the Warrior I am today. I created my brand Male Lupus Warriors because that is exactly what I am! and to let everyone know that men get Lupus too and encourage the men to speak out about their illness and join together to tell others' stories, to educate, inspire and spread awareness on Lupus.


During my journey, I haven’t found too many men speaking out on Lupus, so I decided to be the Voice. I decided to publicly advocate and tell my story to the Lupus Community in the hope to inspire others. With all that I have been through with Lupus, I am still standing strong! “


Male Lupus Warriors

Email: malelupuswarriors@gmail.com

Instagram: malelupuswarriors


Lupus Dream Team


Facebook: Lupus Dream team










bottom of page