top of page

How to move with Chronic illness

I have recently moved from an apartment in the city to an apartment in the suburbs, which had been designed for those with chronic illness or disability. It is It isclose to the supermarket, pharmacy and hospital. I needed to think of a healthy way to move without causing a flare of Lupus, fibromyalgia or suffering seizures. For anyone, moving is one of the most stressful things a human partakes in and is always overwhelming! Here are safe ways to move with chronic illness and disability.


Make a plan that is doable and won't stress you out.

It was important for me to write a to-do list of what needs to be done, so I could see how to make the move less overwhelming by doing one task at a time. Writing lists helps you stay on track and each task should be ticked off as you go.


Don't let other people's expectations dictate how the move should go. Be assertive of your needs because you are in charge! I sat down with my support workers a month or so beforehand explaining what I needed from them for the move. When the moving company came into my space I explained my disabilities and needs for autonomy.


Start as early as you can

The sooner you start the moving process, the better. The extra time allows you to break up larger projects into smaller ones. I needed to go through all of my boxes of fabrics . Because I started early I was able to sort through them box by box at my own pace. I also did a lot of other packing and sorting in small spurts with each of my support workers which eased my stress levels.


Beginning as early as you can helps you stay organized. You have the time to get the right supplies, such as hooks or other appliances and furniture. Starting early also gives you the opportunity to downsize your belongings anda sense of achievement.


Don't be afraid to ask for help from your support network

Moving is a good time to reach out to your friends, family, and support workers. Think about what tasks you need the most help with. I needed help with taking down and putting up wall paintings, bunting and lights. I especially needed help with wrapping delicates into bubble wrap because of my left side mobility weakness from my stroke.


When you ask for help, don't get anal with how the job should be done. Let it be because you're unpacking afterwards anyway!


Simplify elsewhere

Because moving is an unavoidable project, try to simplify other areas of your life. It's a good time to decrease any social plans and other recreational activities. Learn what you can let go of for the time frame. I stopped sewing a week before the move so I could  focus on packing, organizing and other pressing jobs that were more important than sewing.


Unavoidable stress

Any type of stress can cause body aches when you have autoimmune disease. Many studies outline the connections between stress and health. Stress is used as a threat to the body which leads to physiological responses. When we stress, the immune system's ability to fight off toxic antigens is reduced and that is why we are more susceptible to infections and flares of our illnesses. With this move I've had a month-long flare-up of fibromyalgia.


Moving with my cat Daisy

My main concern during the move was my furbaby Daisy. I researched beforehand on ways to make it less stressful for cats, which was to keep her in one room and explore when it's quieter. However, Daisy wanted to be amongst the excitement of the moving day. She was curious but she kept out of the way and half hid behind boxes. Getting her into her carry case was the easiest ever because I used the feliway diffuser before and after the move which gives out calming pheromones.

 I also sprayed the insides of her carry case with calming spray.


No one can take away the stress and physical exertion of planning and executing a move, but you can thrive by creating your own plan and finally making your new place home!

bottom of page