top of page

A study of the causes of Lupus



There has been no definitive cause of lupus. Researchers believe there may be a number of causes, such as hormones, genes, and environmental factors. I’ve come to my own conclusion, with what evidence there is, of the cause of lupus.




Hormones

Hormones are the body’s messengers. They regulate many of the body’s functions. Researchers have determined that there is a relationship between estrogen and lupus.


Estrogens are a group of hormones that are important for normal sexual and reproductive development in women. Estrogen is in both men and women. However, women develop more estrogen, therefore some females may begin to have lupus symptoms before or during their menstruation cycle, during and after pregnancy. Higher levels of estrogen in a woman may regulate the severity of lupus and are most commonly diagnosed at a woman’s childbearing age, 15–45 years old. Researchers are focusing on differences between men and women, beyond hormone levels, which may account for why women are more prone to lupus and other autoimmune diseases. I developed Lupus at eleven. I was eight years old when I started my menstruation cycle.


Genetics Researchers have identified fifty genes that are associated with lupus. There is a combination of genes and an unhealthy environment that may exacerbate being diagnosed.

Certain ethnic groups, such as African, Asian, Hispanic, Latino, Native American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Island descent are at greater risk, this is because certain genes dictate immune responses that fight against unhealthy invaders, causing the immune system’s response to attack healthy organs/tissue. My genealogy is unknown as I was adopted and my Romanian birth Mother does not want to be found and my birth father is unknown.


Stress and Trauma

“Psychological stress associated with exposure to trauma appears to boost the odds of women developing lupus.” During the study, seventy-three of the patients with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder developed SLE compared to women with no trauma. Psychological distress is a response to a traumatic stressor, such as living in an abusive environment. In my case, I started life in an orphanage without developing an attachment to a primal love object. I also had a stressful and abusive childhood. Exposure to psychological stress causes a higher chance of autoimmune disease.


Environment

There has been a link between lupus and the environment, such as a virus or a chemical agent, and is detrimental for those who carry the specific gene for developing lupus.

Environment triggers range from ultraviolet light, dust, cigarette smoking, oral contraceptive, some vaccinations solvents, pesticides, air pollution, mercury and infections are some of the environmental factors that contribute to being diagnosed with lupus.

I conducted my own study of Facebook lupus support groups, I had a total of fifty-five participants.


Lupus and autoimmune and sharing

Participants:14

Birth/pregnancy/hormones:0

Stress/Trauma:14

Genetics/Heredity:11

Environment:4

years of symptoms before diagnosis:7

Lupus is tough but I am Tougher

Participants:14

Birth/pregnancy:2

Stress/Trauma:4

Genetics/heredity:2

Environment:0

Years of symptoms before diagnosis:6


Lupus support and inspiration

Participants:14

Birth/pregnancy:2

Stress/trauma:5

Genetics/heredity:5

Environment:2

Years of symptoms before diagnosis:0


Lupus online support group NZ

Participants:10

Birth/pregnancy:0

Stress/trauma:4

Genetics.heredity:2

Environment:2

Years of symptoms before diagnosis:2

After my own research, I noticed each Facebook group had a higher number of linking stress and trauma as a cause for their lupus diagnosis therefore, I believe I got lupus by the psychological stress of my traumatic start in life and abusive childhood.


bottom of page