top of page

The stigma of living with Hepatitis B

I feel that people need to understand the shame and hurt, those with transmittable disease. Well this is my experience. Head to read more about my journey. https://georgiana3026.wixsite.com/mybeautifultr/hepatitis-b

It is world hepatitis day on the 28th of July. A friend once told me, that people are more afraid of what they don’t understand. So this post is more of an explanation about hepatitis B

Facts

  • Hepatitis B is caused by a virus.

  • attacks the liver.

  • Highly contagious

  • Transmitted through a large amount of bodily fluid

  • There is a vaccine to prevent you from contracting the virus

Symptoms

  • Can lie dormant for up to four months

Includes:

  • fever,

  • fatigue,

  • loss of appetite,

  • nausea

  • Joint pain

  • Upper right side pain (where the liver is)

  • Yellowing of skin and eyes

I challenge you, what if you had hepatitis and others were afraid or treat you differently?

I am engaged, and we do have sex, however due to my hepatitis my partner has to get three injections before we can have sex without a condom.

bottom of page