top of page

Once upon a Time...

Origins

She’s sad, so softly spoken

Tall in stature, with long blonde flowing hair

Her smile that lights up the room

Though her eye hazel and gripped with the pain of poverty

She speaks like a Goddess

However we’ve never met.

I imagine how beautiful you are. My Grandmother

You are proud of your daughter who gave me life.

Sixty Waihopai street

Mum, Dad, Danny, Andrei and I

number Sixty Waihopai street.

Four embossed pink walls surrounding,

large backyard and mummies fish pond.

Knitted, fluffy, pink cardigan.

I, the only ballerina.

Trampoline I sprained my ankle.

Pain. Falling from the swing. Alone

flies up my nose, only girl child.

crying, brothers bullying me.

Screaming? I don’t remember birds.

Sixty Waihopai street is a glimpse into my childhood, without giving too much, I chose to write about before things got crazy as I like to look back on the happy memories

bottom of page