top of page

F.N.D Awareness 25 March 2018

The first I heard about F.N.D. was when I was diagnosed mid 2017 while I was dealing with PTSD and within a toxic living arrangement.

https://i.vimeocdn.com/video/630770884.jpg?mw=1920&mh=1080&q=70

  • F.N.D=Functional Neurological Disorder

  • It can be described as a problem with the functioning of the nervous system

  • For me having this disorder, it manifests during times of stress, tiredness and when the brain is overstimulated and ‘freezes’.

  • Let's think about a computer, that has both hardware and software. When a computers software isn’t updated and isn’t working, it causes glitches in the running of the computer.

  • The brain does not send and receive messages correctly.

  • Symptoms can vary from weakness, the inability to move, sensory and blackouts.

  • Can be as debilitating as Parkinson’s disease and MS and have many similar symptoms.

  • FND can cause particular anguish when the unpredictability and vast range of symptoms can leave sufferers and caregivers alike confused and distressed.

  • My symptoms got better once I removed myself from the toxic living arrangement. And as I have made the effort to listen to my body, I am able to notice what triggers these “episodes” which are flashing lights, a lot of people in and around me, and a lack of sleep

  • To read more about my experience click here https://georgiana3026.wixsite.com/mybeautifultrauma/health-dissability

  • Head to fndhope.org for info of how you can support people living with F.N.D.

What to do when a loved one has an F.N.D. episode

  • Stay calm and sit with the person, till they ride “it” out

  • Don’t call an ambulance, there is nothing the hospital can do to treat it.

  • Ask simple yes or no questions, like are you in pain? Do you need help to walk?

  • When they are ready to try and walk, allow the person to show you the pace they can move at

  • Let them have a moment to come to terms with what is happening to them, with symptoms that can be quite debilitating for the person

  • Process with them afterwards, if they need to process what was happening to them

bottom of page