top of page

SLE Flare and maybe surgery?

At the beginning of 2018 I took a trip into the Wellington Emergency Department with severe Abdominal and stomach pain. My first trip was two days after 2018 New Years. On this admission they told me that I was severely constipated and cleared the constipation saying that was the reason for my pain, but I wasn't certain that was just the issue.

About two weeks later I went to see my GP and she had suspicion that I possibly may be having a Lupus Nephritis flare, informing me I should go straight to the hospital to have tests and maybe treatment.

I was diagnosed with a SLE Lupus flare of the abdomen, as the doctors told me it was common to get inflammation within the stomach, intestines and liver, however even though I was put on a 3 day IV prednisone treatment to treat the Lupus I was still getting mild to severe pain in the lower abdomen and lower right side so they gave me an ultrasound of my abdomen, what they found was a large cyst on my right ovary which had a bleed, and that was causing the pain. When the gynecology rep came to speak to me, he informed me of possibly more surgery to remove the cyst and/or ovary, thinking they would want to test the cyst to see if it is cancerous or benign. I broke down at the talk of surgery because for any procedure, it turns to more than it should.

bottom of page