top of page

My Home, Whare, Sanctuary

Living with Chronic Illness is hard, hard because it’s invisible (symptoms usually cannot be seen) Living with other people is challenging because they don’t understand that we need to look after ourselves first. It’s important for us to have a place you can call home. To be healthy both physically and mentally, with little stress in our lives as stress can be the cause of a flare,

I have recently moved into my own apartment. For the first time I am able to call it home.

Firstly it was about settling into the rhythm of being able to live my daily life without the judgement of others, and I can have my own furniture and decorate my place the way I like it, with colour and bunting that I like. I am fortunate my apartment has an outside balcony with a planter box.

September was when I moved in. The rest of 2018 was about settling in. 2019 has been all about making it my home, so I can enjoy the place and make it a therapeutic sanctuary for my mental and physical health.

Firstly I wanted to have a garden and grow herbs and sunflowers (my favourite flowers) and get a bench seat made to be able to sit outside and look at the view from the balcony. I have had great friends, and thanks to them who have helped my vision come to life.

Annie the cat in the bag

When I first moved in I knew I wanted to get a kitten. I adopted Annie in early February, She keeps me company, I don’t get lonely and depressed as much since she became my little girl! She is the sweetest, gentlest, cutest, playful fur ball. (I may be biased).

For people with Chronic illness it is important for us to have as little stress in our lives, as stress is known to contribute to a flare of our illness, and making our house a home helps minimise stress

I have enough energy to enjoy a hobby, my newfound love for sewing. I can go into my happy place when I am feeling bored.

The beginning of 2018 was all about starting my blog and get my autobiography release, finishing the year with an awesome book launch! This year is finding that balance between work and play, I have enough energy to do both,.

My garden box

My vibe in my house is hopefully inviting relaxing and chill. It was important to make a welcoming and a relaxed ‘culture’ in my home.

bottom of page